How To Get a Copy of a Colorado Accident Report

If you have been the victim of a car accident in Colorado, you may be able to seek out compensation from insurance companies, at-fault drivers, and other responsible parties in order to cover expenses such as property damage, medical bills, and other financial losses. One of the strongest tools in helping you support a claim you bring forward is a police report. A police report details what happened during the accident, who was involved, and what the likely causes were. 

The state of Colorado allows drivers the right to get a copy of their report following an accident. Understanding how to navigate the process can help you get your copy quicker to move forward with your claim.

Bachus & Schanker Wins – Over $1 Billion Recovered

Home » Practice Areas » Auto Accidents » How To Get a Copy of a Colorado Accident Report

What is a Colorado accident report?

If you’ve been involved in an accident in the state of Colorado and police responded to your accident, a Colorado accident report was likely filled out by the responding officer. This eight-page police report details the events of your accident, including how the accident happened, who was involved, damages, injuries, contact information, and other essential details.

Additionally, you’ll find important information about your accident that can help you when you pursue an insurance claim or legal action against the other driver. This important information includes: 

  • Specifics like the date, time, and location of where the accident occurred
  • A sketch of how the accident happened and where vehicles were hit
  • Witness statements
  • The contact information of any witnesses
  • Insurance policy information of all drivers involved 
  • Weather, lighting, and other roadway conditions 
  • An official police opinion of what happened and what may have caused the accident 
  • Notes from responding detectives and other law enforcement officials

If your Colorado car accident was severe enough for you to pursue damages from the other driver’s insurance company, the police report is an invaluable tool to help you support your case.

In the event that you pursue additional legal action, like a car accident injury lawsuit, a police report can help support your claims so you can go after the compensation you may be entitled to.

When is a Colorado police report filed?

Not every auto accident in Colorado will warrant a police report to be written up. Typically, police only show up when you call local law enforcement to report a car accident.

Responding police officers will file a report if property damage exceeds $1,000 or if someone was injured or killed. A police report will also be filed if one or more drivers involved in the accident do not have car insurance. 

Typically, minor accidents, fender benders, and other minor roadway incidents to which an officer responds usually don’t warrant a police report to be drawn up. 

How to request a Colorado police report

If you have been involved in an accident warranting police response in Colorado, you have the right to request a copy of the police report.

You can request a copy online by filling out the required DR2489 Requestor Release and Affidavit of Intended Use and paying the required fees. You should allow for at least 90 days after the car accident occurred, as it can take this long for the police report to be updated in the police database. 

How long do you have to report a car accident to your insurance company?

After an accident, you will want to act quickly in reporting the accident to your insurance company. When you report the accident, the claims process will begin, and an adjuster will likely come out to inspect your vehicle’s damage. The claims process will also determine what compensation you may be entitled to because of medical services rendered and other financial losses you’ve suffered.

It’s important to let your insurance company know about the accident as quickly as possible. This allows your insurance company to contact the other driver’s insurance company so you can recover compensation faster.

Additionally, when you file a claim sooner, evidence is fresh and usually still available. Any disputes the insurance company of the other driver may have can quickly be resolved because physical evidence, skid marks, property damage, witnesses, and other important evidence may still be available. 

Why should I get a copy of my Colorado car accident report?

Colorado is an at-fault state, meaning the insurance company of the driver who was at fault for the accident will be responsible for associated damages. The driver’s policy is what will pay out any property damages, medical bills, or other financial losses another driver suffers. 

In Colorado, all drivers are required to have a minimum auto coverage that includes 

  • $25,000 per person for bodily injury
  • $50,000 total per accident for bodily injury 
  • $15,000 for property damage

If you’re the victim of a car accident in Colorado and are submitting a claim to the insurance company of the other driver, a police report helps you verify the events that happened before, during, and after the accident and will overall help support your claim. 

Should I speak with a Colorado car accident attorney?

A Lady Justice statue in front of a stack of books and the scales of justice on a Colorado car accident attorney's desk.

If you’ve suffered severe property damage and medical losses because of a car accident in Colorado, seeking out the guidance of an experienced car accident attorney can help you recover the compensation you deserve.

The attorneys at Bachus & Schanker can help advocate for your rights when working with insurance companies and other responsible parties after your car accident. If you decide to pursue additional legal action in the form of a personal injury lawsuit, our team will help you hold all parties accountable for their actions that led to your injury, financial losses, and pain and suffering. 

Our team of attorneys, paralegals, and investigators will help you build a robust case to recover the settlement you deserve. If your case goes to trial, our attorneys have detailed knowledge of local and state laws and can help represent you when you need it most. 

Sources:

DR2489 Requestor Release and Affidavit of Intended Use. 2023.

Mandatory Automobile Insurance in Colorado. 2023.Report a Car Accident. 2023.

You Deserve Fair Compensation

Don’t let the insurance companies intimidate you into accepting less than you deserve. We’re ready to fight for you.

A headshot of personal injury attorney, Kyle Bachus.

Written and Legally Reviewed By: Kyle Bachus

Google Logo 4.6 ★★★★★ 1,461 Google Reviews

Kyle is a member of the Colorado and Florida Bar associations and has served on the Board of Directors of the Colorado Trial Lawyers Association for more than twenty years in total. Over the years, Kyle has achieved justice for many clients. He has served on numerous committees and repeatedly won recognition from his peers at both the state and national level. He is proud of the role he has played in the passage of state and national legislation to protect consumers and is a frequent speaker and guest lecturer.