Cell Texting While Driving, and Teens Using Cells While Driving Banned in Colorado
Thinking of sending out a text message to your spouse while waiting at the light?
Think again. A new Colorado law that takes effect December 1, 2009, makes texting on your phone while driving illegal. This includes text messages, emails, tweets--and bans anyone under the age of 18 from using a cellphone while driving.
Colorado Governor Bill Richards signed the bill in Fort Collins, where last year 9-year-old Erica Forney was killed by a driver who had been distracted while talking on a cell phone.
Violators of the law can expect a $50 fine for the first offense (which is a class-A traffic infraction) and $100 on a second offense.
Although the legislators who sponsored the bill are pleased with a renewed protection for the safety of Colorado people, they are also frustrated that it doesn't more aggressively address the problem of using a cell phone while driving. Supporters of the bill would like to see, in the future, all Colorado drivers who talk on a cell while driving to use a hands-free device instead of a normal phone.